Home
20150719_075458

Heading out of Indy…back home again in about 3 days!

I think people miss the connection that used to be inherent in travel. Just inside the Indianapolis International Airport, I met a friendly Hoosier who gave me sage advice about making the most of my free time in DC . “Get your lunch on the go and in one-hour you can spend a half hour at Air and Space one day, then head to another museum the next day,” he said.

20150719_083219

But more than that, he reminded me to “seize the day,” and be present in the moment. To me that means connecting with people around me – it’s that Hoosier Hospitality ingrained in my psyche, coupled with an innate curiosity, i.e., nosiness, or just the fact I don’t like to travel alone.

IMG_20150719_103522

Fellow traveler, Greenfield resident and Civil Air Patrol Cadet Ambassador Luke

On the airplane to Reagan Airport, my seat companion was a nice young man named Luke with the Indiana Ambassadors for the Civil Air Patrol cadets. He just finished a big convention at Camp Atterbury and is meeting up with other ambassadors from across the country, who, in a few days will scatter from the Nation’s Capital across the world. He renewed my faith in today’s young people (he’s a junior at IU hoping to go to med school) because he didn’t make chatting with an old woman seem like a chore and even indulged in a landing selfie on the planeJ Even better, he is from Greenfield so maybe I’ll see him again.

20150719_105752

The cab ride was sedate and now I’m torn between a nap and heading down 14th Street to the National Mall since I have most of the afternoon to explore and the view out of my window beckons. Just guess what I’ll choose…

20150719_115455

Thomas Circle Park from my room in the Donovan Hotel in Downtown D.C.

Leave a Reply

